By-elections: ANC takes JS Moroka ward with 20 votes

ANC takes JS Moroka ward with 20 votes
FILE: A wheelchair-bound South African woman casts her vote at a polling station. PICTURE BY AP

The party almost lost the ward, getting just few votes above that of their rival contester in the by-election on Wednesday.

The ANC in the Siyabuswa area of ward 11 has received just 20 votes above that of an independent candidate.

The independent contester, Lucas Mahlangu, received 1 200 votes and the ANC’s Charles Skhosana got 1220 votes.

A by-elections was declared in the area after the Electoral Court found that the manner in which IEC officials conducted the 3 August 2016 local government elections were unfair and not free.

Mahlangu took IEC officials to the court, which then ruled that a by-election be conducted after officials allowed unregistered special voters to cast their votes on 2 August 2016, the day before the local government elections.

SEE ALSO: IEC declares JS Moroka by- elections after rigging of votes

The Siyabuswa ward 11 of GaMmakola and Two-Line townships falls under the Dr. JS Moroka sub-region and went to by-elections this week (8 March).

The EFF’s Velephi Masango got 69 votes while Leah Mtsweni of the African Independent Congress (AIC) received 40 and the National Freedom Party’s Sphiwe Napo got 11.

(edited by ZK)

Send tips to