Delegates console themselves over rumour ‘Unity’ votes went to CR

Delegates console themselves over rumour 'Unity' votes went to CR
UNITY: In a surprise jolt in the balance of slates, DD Mabuza's Unity seems to have won the day for the CR campaign. PICTURE BY Timeslive/MASI LOSI.

Cyril Ramaphosa took the reigns of the party as the 14th president of the African National Congress on 18 December 2017.

Mpumalanga delegates who had hoped their presidential hopeful Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma would take the baton of the ANC were on Monday night trying to find peace with a rumour that their leader David Mabuza went for her opponent in the ballot paper.

Cyril Ramaphosa defeated Dlamini-Zuma when he received 2440 of the total votes against her 2261, a difference of 179 votes.

NDZ supporters now believe these were the Unity votes that Mabuza had been putting aside all along.

Mpumalanga previously had 123 of its total branches nominating Dlamini-Zuma and 117 nominating CR, with 223 choosing Mabuza’s Unity candidate.

The province changed in the final hours during voting at the Nasrec Expo Centre when a majority of its delegates went for CR in the ballot.

A delegate who serves in one of the regional executive committees of the ANC in the province said newly elected secretary Ace Magashule appeared very upset by the outcomes on Monday night and came to tell them that “Mabuza sold us out”.

SEE ALSO: Mabuza wary of deputising NDZ – Wits expert

“Comrade Ace came to us [after the results had been announced]. We were very disappointed all of us. No singing. Nothing. Unable even to drink water. He didn’t look happy also. He then said that Mabuza sold us out and then he left,” the Mpumalanga source who is a staunch NDZ supporter said last night.

“But it’s fine we accept the results, all of us we have won,” he said.

Mabuza received 2538 of the total votes for the position of deputy president, defeating Lindiwe Sisulu who got 2159.

Gwede Mantashe, who received 2418 against Nathi Mthethwa’s 2269 votes for the position of chairman, was succeeded by Magashule who defeated Senzo Mchunu by only 24 delegates.

The following are the top six


Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President:

DD Mabuza

National Chairperson:

Gwede Mantashe

Secretary General:

Ace Magashule

Deputy Secretary General:

Jessie Duarte

Treasurer General:

Paul Mashatile

(edited by MLM)

Send tips to