ANC announces Mpumalanga mayors


The ANC in Mpumalanga has announced the names of the three mayors to head up the three district municipal councils in the province at a press briefing held at its Mbombela headquarters on Tuesday.

The party also announced the names of mayors of the 17 municipal councils of the province.

In a statement delivered by provincial secretary, Mandla Ndlovu, flanked by deputy chairwoman, Violet Siwela, and provincial spokesman, Thulare Madileng, the ANC reiteratedits intention to deploy strong leaders to head up the municipalities in an effort to strengthen the capacity of local government institutions.

The redeployment of certain leaders from the provincial legislature gives an indication that the ANC may reshuffle its provincial cabinet, citing reasons of capacity and efficiency. We want strong and tested leaders to lead municipalities.

Turning once more to the members and supporters of the ANC, the party expressed its profound gratitude to all those who supported and voted for it in the province and was at pains to emphasise the seriousness and bearing, on it as an organisation, the results of the elections.

Therefore the party will now reflect on the journey travelled as well to introspect on the challenges and issues raised by many of our members and voters, the statement read.

During this announcement the MEC for Public Works, Roads and Transport Dumisile Nhlengethwa was announced asthe new speaker of Msukaligwa, replacing Bheki Vilakazi.

Solomon Nkosi takes over from Sipho Bongwe as the new mayor of Msukaligwa while the ANC chairman in the Gert Sibande region, Muzi Chirwa, is the new mayor of Gert Sibande District Municipality, taking over from Mishack Nhlabathi.

In the Nkangala District, erstwhile eMalahleni Mayor, Linah Malatjie takes the helm at the district council with former provincial secretary, Lucky Ndinisa as speaker of the council. Mike Masina will retain his post as Steve Tshwete mayor while Lindiwe Ntshalintshali is set to continue on as eMalahleni mayor.

MEC for Social Development, Nomsa Mtshweni is now the mayor of Thembisile Hani and former Youth League leader, Gijimani Skhosana, takes over from Rhoda Mathabe as mayor of Dr J.S Moroka.

In keeping with the theme of women empowerment, Jesta Sydel takes over the reigns as mayor at Hlanzeni District Municipality, Sibusiso Mathonsistays on as the mayor of the newly-merged Mbombela municipality and former chief whip of the Bushbuckridge municipality and Mpumalanga head of elections, Sylvia Nxumalo is now the mayor of the municipality.

The following are the names of the announced mayors for all the municipalities in Mpumalanga:


Ehlanzeni District Municipality – Jesta Sydel

Bushbuckridge Local Municipality Sylvia Nxumalo

Thaba Chewu Local Municipality Selinah Mashego

Nkomazi Local Municipality Thulisile Khoza

Mbombela Local Municipality Sibusiso Mathonsi


Nkangala District Municipality Linah Malatjie

Victor Khanye Local Municipality Eva Makhabane

eMalahleni Local Municipality Lindiwe Ntshalintshali

Steve Tshwete Local Municipality Mike Masina

Emakhazeni Local Municipality Thomas Ngwenya

Thembisile Hani Local Municipality Nomsa Mtshweni,

Dr J.S Moroka Local Municipality Gijimani Jimmy Skosana


Gert Sibande Muzi Chirwa

Chief Albert Luthuli Local Municipality Dan Nkosi

Dipaliseng Local Municipality Mafunda Makhubu

Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Local Municipality Vincent Malatsi

Goven Mbeki Local Municipality Flora Boltman

Lekwa Local Municipality Linda Dlamini

Mkhondo Local Municipality Vusi Motha

Msukaligwa Local Municipality Solomon Nkosi


(edited by MM)