ANC sacks mayor of cleanest Mpumalanga municipality

The party says they had to fire him to “stabilise” the municipality.

Steve Tshwete municipality mayor Mike Masina has been asked to resign from the job.

Masina lost his job this week Monday after the party recalled him.

Acting provincial secretary Lindiwe Ntshalintshali said they had to recall Masina because of a lack of “proper working relations” between Masina and the Nkangala ANC.

She said it was due to “the long standing lack of proper working relations between the ANC regionand the mayor”.

“The relationship between the SA Municipal Workers Union and stakeholders such as traditional and religious leaders has also collapsed and createdinstability in the municipality,” Ntshalintshali said.

ANC sacks mayor of cleanest Mpumalanga municipality

Mike Masina. PIC MfisoDIGITAL/MLM.

Masina, who has been a mayor of the Steve Tshwete municipality since the 2011 local government elections, will now work at the Nkangala district municipality as an ordinary councillor.

The Steve Tshwete municipality has a track record of 16 years of excellent service and clean governance and Masina returned to the position of mayor after the 2016 local elections despite not having then Premier DD Mabuza’s blessing.

Tsietsi Tolo will take over the reigns as the new mayor of the Steve Tshwete municipality.

SEE ALSO: Thandi Shonwe becomes MEC in Refiloe Mtsweni cabinet realighnment

Other changes in the Mpumalanga municipalities are:

– Nkomazi mayor Thulisile Khoza has also been asked to resign, and has been sent to go work at the legislature. Therefore Johan Mkhatshwa will be the new mayor. The party says this is done “to harness service delivery” as there were no proper working relations between herself, speaker Million Shongwe and chief whip Simon Mabuza. Shongwe has now been sent to go work as an ordinary councillor at the eHlanzeni district municipality but Mabuza is sent to become an MMC at the same Nkomazi municipality.

– Ntshalintshali resigned as the eMalahleni mayor and Linah Malatjie, who is Nkangala district mayor, will take up her seat as the new eMalahleni mayor and Sarah Masilela will become the new Nkangala district mayor. Ntshalintshali is the ANC provincial election team co-ordinator and is asked to work full-time at party headquarters.

– Lekwa municipality mayor Linda Dhlamini has been asked to resign and Khosi Khotha will replace him. Dhlamini will work at the Gert Sibande district municipality as an ordinary councillor. The ANC says there have been difficulty in working relationship between Dhlamini, the speaker and the chief whip and this stems from differences they held towards the 54th national congress in Nasrec last year.

“It should be noted that these changes were made to strengthen governance so as toensure that service delivery to our people is maximised towards 2019 and beyond,” Ntshalintshali said.

(edited by MLM)

Send tips to [email protected]