ANC reacts to ‘tough’ JS Moroka by-elections

ANC reacts to 'tough' JS Moroka by-elections
FILE: Jubilant ANC supporters. PICTURE BY Buzz SA

The ANC in the Mpumalanga province has admitted the Siyabuswa ward 11 by-elections were ‘tough’.

The ANC said the ward 11 areas of Waterval, Two-line and GaMmakola were ‘highly contested’ after independent contester Lucas Mahlangu received 1,200 of the total votes and the ANC 1,220.

SEE ALSO: ANC takes JS Moroka ward with 20 votes

Mahlangu had taken IEC officials to court after they allowed unregistered special voters to cast their votes on the eve of the 3 August 2016’s local government elections.

The court declared the elections in the area unfair and not free and the date of 8 March 2017 was announced by the Independent Electoral Commission as the date of the by-elections.

Provincial secretary Mandla Ndlovu took to Facebook soon after IEC announced the results.

“Yhoooo! It was tough yesterday on the by-elections”.

He thanked ANC volunteers “for the good fight” in retaining the ward.

The Mpumalanga sub-region of Dr JS Moroka falls under the Nkangala region.

Regional spokesman Sello Matshoga said they managed to retain the ‘highly contested’ ward and the people of the area rejected the inexperienced independent and EFF contesters “who had high hopes of winning”.

“These results confirm the people’s confidence in the governing party and their movement, the ANC. They are further testament that no other political party has the proven track record, experience and vision to unite the people of South Africa and move our country forward.

“We thank the people of Ward 11 for demonstrating faith in the ANC and reaffirming our position as the leader of society,” he said.

“We do not take this support for granted and call on the elected public representatives to work hard to resolve our people’s problems,” Matshoga said.

The EFF’s Velephi Masango got 69, Leah Mtsweni of the African Independent Congress and National Freedom Party’s Sphiwe Napo got 11.

(edited by ZK)

Send tips to