New lobby group wants Mandla Ndlovu to succeed Mabuza

New lobby group wants Mandla Ndlovu to succeed Mabuza
TO BE SEEN: Who will emerge to replace DD Mabuza as Mpumalanga chair remains to be seen. PICTURE BY MfisoDIGITAL/ZK.

The battle to succeed DD is heating up seriously in the province.

An emerging lobby group apparently opposed to the one that wants ANC spokeswoman Sasekani Manzini as the new chair of Mpumalanga is infiltrating the ground for secretary Mandla Ndlovu to take the reigns.

The group wants Speedy Mashilo, the current chair of the Nkangala region, to deputise Ndlovu.

Information emerged over social media this week – as well as the strategies of the group – on how they aim to frustrate the other lobby groups ahead of the special congress.

A special provincial congress will sit in April 2018 and elect a person who will continue David Mabuza’s term – after he was elected the deputy president on 18 December 2017 – until a provincial congress sits in 2019.

The group aims to steal a large chunk of delegates from eHlanzeni region by making Pat Ngomane the new provincial secretary and from Bohlabela by pushing for Ndlovu to emerge as chairman at the special congress.

There’s another group that wants Manzini as the chair but another group within this group proposes she becomes the deputy chair and Ngomane becomes the chair.

On Wednesday last week Manzini and Ngomane met in what is reported to be negotiations for Manzini to be the deputy chair.

SEE ALSO: Ngomane tipped to replace Mabuza

The meeting in Bushbuckridge is reported to have occurred in the presence of ANCYL deputy president Desmond Moela and Bohlabela ANC secretary Follas Sibuyi.

ALSO RELATED: PRET wants Sasekani Manzini as Mabuza’s successor

Another group in the eHlanzeni region wants Peter Nyoni, the former regional deputy chair, to succeed Mabuza.

Another wants Fish Mahlalela, the ex-provincial chair, who was key in organising President Cyril Ramaphosa’s campaign in the province, to take the seat.

(edited by MLM)

Send tips to [email protected]