Sasekani Manzini tops Mpumalanga legislature nominations

Sasekani Manzini tops Mpumalanga legislature nominations
IN THE LEAD: Mpumalanga ANC spokeswoman Sasekani Manzini (L) has the highest number of nominations to go to the legislature after next year's general elections. PICTURE BY 013NEWS/ZK.

She is ahead of Premier Refilwe Mtshweni who has the second highest number of branch nominations.

Mpumalanga ANC spokeswoman Sasekani Manzini has the highest number of branch nominations to go to the 30-seat legislature.

Premier Refilwe Mtshweni is behind her by only two branch votes.

Of the 288 Mpumalanga branches that sat for their BGMs to nominate members who should go fill the seats at the legislature after the 2019’s general elections, Manzini was nominated by 206 with 204 nominating Mtshweni.

The list was released by acting provincial secretary Lindiwe Ntshalintshali ahead of a provincial list conference scheduled for 7 December 2018 at the Nutting House in Mbombela.

ANCWL provincial chairwoman Busi Shiba has the third largest votes – with 188 branches nominating her to come serve as a legislature member, followed by Nkangala ANC regional leader Speedy Mashilo with 183 and PEC member Pat Ngomane who received 180 branch nominations.

The provincial list has 58 nominees, which includes current legislature members like Vusi Shongwe, David Dube, Bonakele Majuba, Sibusiso Malaza, Gillion Mashego, Fidel Mlombo, Gabisile Shabalala, JJ Skhosana, Thandi Shongwe and Violet Siwela.

Others in the list include ANC contender Peter Nyoni, Lucky Ndinisa, Sarel Mtshweni, Mandla Msibi, Charles Makola as well as Nkangala ANCYL leader Bobo Mtshweni, eHlanzeni ANCYL leader Bheki Lubisi and league deputy president Desmond Moela as well as others like Gert Sibande ANC leader Muzi Chirwa and eHlanzeni’s Jesta Sidel.

In a statement this week, the ANC said that it was pleased by the “tolerance and maturity” displayed during the nomination process.

It said of the 400 branches the province has a total of 341 that were able to pass audits and 288 were able to conduct BGMs.

Anyone who has objections regarding the list should direct them to party provincial headquarters in Mbombela no later than Thursday 6 December 2018, it said.

(edited by ZK)

Send tip-offs to