Refilwe Mtshweni to cast her vote in Vosman  

Refilwe Mtshweni to cast her vote in Vosman
Mpumalanga Premier Maria Refilwe Mtshweni will cast her vote in the township of Vosman on May 8th. PICTURE BY New Era.

Millions of South Africans are heading to different polling stations to exercise their democratic right to choose a government of their own choice.

Mpumalanga Premier Refilwe Mtshweni will be voting in the eMalahleni area of Vosman, her office announced. 

She will vote at 8 o’clock in the morning at the Ebenezer Church in Ward 8, eMalahleni, spokesman Zibonele Mncwango said.

The IEC on Tuesday said the country’s 22 924 voting stations were ready to open from 7 in the morning to 9 at night. From then on counting will begin. 

But in instances where the 9 o’clock closing time finds voters in queue, they will be allowed, the electoral body said. 

“The past two days of special voting have helped to iron out any teething problems and ensure everything is in place and ready,” the electoral commission said. 

Meanwhile, the EFF also announced provincial leader Collen Sedibe will be casting his vote at the White River Town Hall. National secretary Goodrich Gardee voted one day before the election date of 8 May as a special voter at the KaMagugu Primary School in Mbombela. 

The DA said Jane Sithole, a Premier candidate for the party and a provincial leader of the official opposition party in Mpumalanga, will vote at Curro Bankenveld, eMalahleni.

ANC deputy president DD Mabuza will vote in Barberton. The venue is the Azuri farm, just a kilometre from his house and is scheduled to be there at 11 in the morning.

(edited by ZK)

Send tip-offs to